Written Answers - Ministerial Appointments

Thursday, 24 May 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 766 No. 3

First Page Previous Page Page of 173 Next Page Last Page

 154.  Deputy Catherine Murphy Information on Catherine Murphy Zoom on Catherine Murphy  asked the Minister for Justice and Equality Information on Alan Shatter Zoom on Alan Shatter  the current number of active Peace Commissioners here; the distribution of same by county; the total number of new Peace Commissioners created in 2010, 2011 and to date in 2012; the process by which one may apply to become a Peace Commissioner; the regulatory function his Department has in respect of Peace Commissioners; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [26058/12]

Minister for Justice and Equality (Deputy Alan Shatter): Information on Alan Shatter Zoom on Alan Shatter Peace Commissioners are appointed by the Minister for Justice and Equality under Section 88 of the Courts of Justice Act, 1924.

There are 5,733 appointed Peace Commissioners in this State. The Roll of Peace Commissioners is appointment based and my Department is reliant upon the Peace Commissioners themselves and other interested parties to advise of changes which occur subsequent to appointment. For that reason, the Roll is not automatically updated to take account of changes of address, availability or status as they occur. As such, the figure of 5,733 must be considered within these parameters.

There were 102 Peace Commissioners appointed in 2010, 118 appointed in 2011, and 52 appointed to date in 2012.

[771]An application for appointment may be submitted by a person who is interested in obtaining an appointment or a third party may submit a nomination in respect of a person considered suitable for appointment. Nominations are generally received from public representatives. A local Garda Superintendent can also request an appointment in a particular area in the public interest.

Persons who are members of professions or employed in occupations which engage in legal work or related activities and members of the clergy are, as a matter of practice, not appointed because of their occupation. Civil Servants are usually only appointed where the performance of their official duties requires an appointment (i.e. ex-officio). Persons convicted of serious offences are considered unsuitable for appointment.

The distribution of Peace Commissioner by county is as follows:

County No. of Peace Commissioners
Carlow 58
Cavan 150
Clare 169
Cork 875
Donegal 270
Dublin 875
Galway 310
Kerry 270
Kildare 138
Kilkenny 146
Laois 115
Leitrim 60
Limerick 381
Longford 71
Louth 106
Mayo 313
Meath 136
Monaghan 81
Offaly 89
Roscommon 134
Sligo 97
Tipperary 271
Waterford 148
Westmeath 102
Wexford 258
Wicklow 110

Last Updated: 03/09/2015 14:24:20 First Page Previous Page Page of 173 Next Page Last Page